FROM 13 OF JUNE 2019

Thursdays stableford competition that was played on the 13 June 2019 had 16 golfers take cards out and the overall winner was Herman Vanderheul with 44 points from Craig Kuiper on 39 points and coming in third was Viv Bennison on 37 points, Viv also took out the front nine competition. Viv and Craig Kuiper were the only two to have birdies and the nearest to pin on the fifth was not hit.

Saturday’s stroke round was also the Captains trophy which attracted a field of 25 men and 2 ladies. The morning golfers got the better of the conditions with the afternoon golfers getting quite heavy rain for around six holes on the front nine which did effect scoring for the afternoon golfers. Andrew Varcoe won the captains trophy as well as the A Grade with a fine score of net 70 Lyle MacGregor net 75 was enough to see him clinch second spot in the A Grade. The B Grade was hotly contested with 15 men being eligible for this comp, but it was club stalwart and in form golfer Herman Vanderheul with a fine net 71 winning from Chris Agnew on net 73. The ball run down only went to three spots this week due to the low numbers of players in the field and it went the way of Mick Pedler with a net 75 from Dave Seymour on net 76 and Greg Cook on net 77 winning on a count back for this final ball. Peter Burchard was very close to the Pin on the third and he took out the nearest to pin on the third, Chris Agnew won the Fifth, Greg Cook took out the 13th and 17th. Birdies went the way of Brian Bowman, Dave Seymour, Graham Sunderland, Peter Burchard, Trevor Atkinson, Greg Cook and Ben Golding. The ladies stableford winner was Rosalie Hunt on 30 points.

The following day on Sunday marked the quarterfinals for the club and Grade championships for 2019. The winners in the A Grade were Ben Golding 2 and 1 over Jamie Bellinger, Greg Cook 3 and 1 over Phil Thrussell, Ian Greenwood 1 up over Owen Merrett and Terry Chant who won the 19th over Viv Bennison. The B Grade winners were Andrew Ferguson 3 and 1 over Justyn Saint, Martin Cameron defeated Mark Pilmore 2 and 1, Scott Packer easily defeated Paul Whitford 6 and 5, Graham Warren also took Care of Trevor Atkinson 5 and 3. The winners move onto the semi finals next Sunday and times will be advised during the week. The C Grade will also be having their first round of finals next week being the semi final in that grade and the matches are Scott Lonergan vs Liam Chant and Glen Tilley vs Dave Seymour. A Grade matches next week are Ben Golding vs Greg Cook, Ian Greenwood vs Terry Chant and in the B Grade Andrew Ferguson vs Martin Cameron and Scott Packer vs Graham Warren. Times will be advertised for these matches during the week as well.

It would also be appreciated by the players that are playing next week if fellow members could come out to the club and support their fellow members as well.

R. W

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s