Saturday’s stroke round marked the final qualification round for the Millicent Golf Club Grade and Club Championship for 2019. This year’s qualification started back on May 4 with golfers having to put in two cards to be eligible for the knock out finals in June, the top 8 golfers in each grade will then play knock out matchplay on June 16, 23 with the final being held on June 30 2019.

The unofficial top 10 for each grade who have successfully put in at least two cards out the three qualification rounds held on May 4, 11 and May 25 are

Club Championship

Handicap 0-10

  1. Ben Golding 157

  2. Terry Chant 158

  3. Owen Merrett 162 c/b

  4. Greg Cook 162

  5. Phil Thrussell 163

  6. Ian Greenwood 164 c/b

  7. Vyvyan Bennison 164

  8. Jamie Bellinger 165

  9. Alan Schultz 166

  10. Andy Varcoe 167

B Grade 11-17

  1. Andrew Ferguson 167

  2. Graham Warren 170

  3. Scott Packer 171

  4. Martin Cameron 172

  5. Lylye McGregor 173

  6. Mark Pilmore 174

  7. Paul Whitford 175

  8. Trevor Atkinson 178

  9. Justyn Saint 179

  10. Geoff Cameron 183

C Grade 18-36

  1. Chris Agnew 185 c/b

  2. Scott Longergan 185

  3. Anthony Driessen 193

  4. David Seymour 197

  5. Glen Tilley 204

  6. Herman Vanderheul 205

  7. Jim Hyland 209

  8. Trevor Hutchesson 214

  9. Robert Thompson 218

  10. Liam Chant 219

This are unofficial will depend on members that have qualified being available to play in all three rounds of the finals etc.

Saturdays 25 May 2019 Results

35 in field-Stroke Round

A Grade

  1. Owen Merrett net 69

  2. Martin Cameron net 74 c/b

  3. Ben Golding net 74 c/b

B Grade

  1. Paul Whitford net 72

  2. Chris Agnew net 73 c/b

  3. Herman Vanderheul net 73 c/b

Nearest to Pins

3rd not hit

5th Shane Stevens

13th Scott Packer

17th Ian Greenwood

Birdies paid out one ball each to Ian Greenwood on 17, Chris Agnew and Greg Cook both on 13.

Terry Chant had an eagle on the 10th and has cleaned out the eagle’s nest.

Don’t forget this Saturday’s comp is the monthly medal for June and is a stroke round with a putting comp as per the normal with a medal round. On the long weekend all roads will be leading to Loxton for the tri challenge event and if you haven’t put on your name down on the sheet at the club and you are intending to head up please do so. Quarter finals for club and grade championship is Sunday 16 June then the Semi Finals on Sunday 23 June and the final will be held over 36 holes on Sunday 30 June 2019. Happy Golfing.


Saturday Stroke

A grade

1st – O. Merrett 69

2nd – M. Cameron 74 cb

3rd – B. Golding 74

B grade

1st – P. Whitford 72

2nd – C. Agnew 73 cb

3rd – H. Vanderheul 73

Ball run down

P. Hunter

J. Bellinger

A. Ferguson


3rd – S. Stevens

5th – M. Cameron

13th – S. Packer

17th – I. Greenwood


C. Agnew

G. Cook

I. Greenwood


T. Chant on the 10th

Millicent Golf Club Women’s Results 22.5.19

The Shylie Rymill Foursomes were contested by 20 Ladies on Wednesday, 22nd May.
The Club Foursomes, where eight pairs qualify for Match Play were played in conjunction with this Golf SA event.
Winners were Alex Lambert and Lyn Watson with 71.5 nett.
Runners up were Virginia DeDonatis and Carmel Cory with nett 75.
Alex and Lyn’s 88 off the stick was also the best of the day, and this will see them eligible to compete as Millicent’s representatives at the Golf SE District Foursomes which will be held at Lucindale on Monday 24th June.
Combined Long Drive on the 14th hole – Alex Lambert and Lyn Watson
Nearest to Pin – 2nd Shot – 5th – Virginia DeDonatis and Carmel Cory.
Next Wednesday’s Competition is Par to be played on the Short Course, and will contribute to the Sassi Gift Home Living Olympic Event.

Winners of the Shylie Rymill Foursomes Lyn Watson and Alex Lambert, flanked by Runners Up Carmel Cory (left) and Virginia DeDonatis (right).


Saturday Stableford

A grade

1st – M. Pilmore 38pts

2nd – M. Cameron 36pts

B grade

1st – R. Thompson 36pts

2nd – S. Lonergan 35pts


1st – K. Sporer 32pts

Ball run down

G. Sunderland 34pts

J. Reynolds 34pts

B. Golding 34pts


3rd – S. Lonergan

5th – G. Cook

13th – V. Bennison

17th – G. Sunderland


R. Thompson

P. Hunter

T. Chant

Results – Marg Baker Memorial Day 15.5.19

23 Ladies contested a Stableford Round on Wednesday 15th May in honour of former Club Member, Marg Baker.
The Millicent Golf Club Ladies welcomed Marg’s family members, including her daughter, Marina, son Tom, daughter in law Lizzie, sisters Jill and Dierdre and her husband Kevin Richardson, niece Sue and her husband Fred Horne and members of the Baker Group, Nina Lonergan and Ruth Low.
The inaugural Winner of the Marg Baker Memorial Trophy was Alex Lambert with 37 points, Runner up was Glenis Skeer with 36 points.
A Grade – Alex Lambert 37, Sue Horne (Thirteenth Beach Golf Club) 35.
B Grade – Glenis Skeer 36, Dierdre Richardson (Riverside Golf Club, Tasmania) 33.
Ball Winners – Vicki Snodgrass (Lucindale Golf Club) 35, Kirsty Bailey 35, Mardi Sunderland 34, Bronwyn Clarke 34.
Nine Hole Competition – Mardi Sunderland 18 c/b.
Nearest to Pin 3rd – Alex Lambert
Nearest to Pin 2nd Shot – A Grade – 12th – Alex Lambert
Nearest to Pin 2nd Shot – B Grade – 17th – Glenis Skeer
Nearest to Pin 2nd Shot – 32-45 Handicap – Sue Ireland
Men’s Competition Winner – Kevin Richardson 33
Nearest to Pin – 5th Hole – Fred Horne
Next Wednesday, 22nd May is the Shylie Rymill Foursomes, so arrange your own partner, top eight scores will qualify for match play for the Club Foursomes.
Names to be submitted by 9.15am to Hit off by 9.30am.

Marg Baker’s daughter Marina and son Tom with the Winner of the Marg Baker Memorial Trophy Alex Lambert.

Marg Baker’s daughter Marina and son Tom with the Runner up of the Marg Baker Memorial Trophy Glenis Skeer


Saturday Stroke

A grade

1st – S. Stevens 71 cb

2nd – B. Golding 71

B grade

1st – G. Cameron 73

2nd – M. Fuentes 74

Ball run down

J. Bellinger 72

S. Packer 72

P. Thrussell 73


3rd – J. Reynolds

5th – S. Packer

13th – G. Sunderland

17th – P. Thrussell


P. Thrussell

G. Sunderland

A. Shultz

S. Packer

Ladies Results 8.5.19

A Par round was played by 18 Ladies, contesting the President versus Captain’s Bowl. The President’s team were victorious over the Captain’s team.
A Grade – Val Williams 2 down, Lana Barlow 3 down.
B Grade – Julie McKenzie square, Carmel Cory 5 down.
Ball Winners – Amber Buhlmann 4 down, Lyn Watson 5 down and Kirsty Bailey 5 down on a countback from two other players also on 2 down.
Nine Hole Competition – Lana Barlow square on a countback from Val Williams.
Nearest to Pin – 3rd – Janet Watson.
Nearest to Pin – 13th – Amber Buhlmann
Nearest to Pin – 2nd Shot – 6th – A Grade – Lana Barlow
Nearest to Pin – 2nd Shot – 5th – B Grade – Julie McKenzie.
Next Wednesday, 15th May is the Marg Baker Memorial Day, playing a Stableford Competition, in conjunction with the 1st Round of Margaret Young Eclectic and Heather Walker Memorial Trophy.
Submit names by 9am for a 9.30am Start. Marg’s family will participating, and Lady Members are asked to bring a plate of Afternoon Tea to be shared after play.

Captain Kathy Sporer presenting the bowl to President Val Williams

A Grade Winner Val Williams, A Grade Runner up Lana Barlow, B Grade Winner Julie McKenzie, B Grade Runner up Carmel Cory, 45 Handicap Winner Nikki Kirkland